What Are Chakras? and How They Work?


7 chakras

In Yogic philosophy, Chakras are very important. These are physical centers of energy in our bodies. According to yoga, each center has a different role to play in our lives. Below is a complete guide about what chakras are? and how they work?


According to yogic knowledge, the chakras are defined as the “independent centers of energy or focal points in a human body.” Each of these centers has a role to play. But to play this role, it must be open and unlocked. When a person is not living the type of life he/she should be living, it can cause one or more chakras to get blocked. When these chakras get blocked, you can no longer perform the daily tasks of your life. Your bodily health and mental condition will start to worsen. Hence it is very important to keep these chakras open. Below are the names of each chakra and how do they work?

1.   Root Chakra (Muladhara):

The Root Chakra, which is also known as the Muladhara, is the first of these chakras. It is present near the base of our spine. This chakra helps us feel connected with the foundation or ground. It controls our basic needs, such as food, drink, money, and other important things for our survival. The root chakra has a red color and it develops in the early age of human life. The element for the root chakra is the earth. It tells us that you cannot grow if your foundations are unstable. Root chakra should be controlled and kept open, otherwise, we will not be able to perform our basic tasks and get food, water, and shelter.

2.   Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana):

The Sacral Chakra, which is also known as the Swadhisthana, is the second chakra. It is placed slightly above the baseline of the spine. It lies below our abdomen and is usually developed when a person is between 7 to 14 years of age. The function of this chakra is to control sexuality, desires, pleasure, and well-being. It is also linked with feelings such as honor and protection. Its color is orange and it has water as its element. Keeping this chakra open is very important because it controls a lot of our emotions.

3.   Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura):

The Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura chakra is the third chakra from the baseline. It is situated near the stomach area in our abdomen. It has a very important role to play in controlling our emotions such as self-worth, self-respect, and confidence. If this Chakra does not open, we will not be able to trust in our instincts and it will create a hole in our thinking and our confidence. Lack of confidence will not let us succeed in our life. Hence it is very important to keep this chakra open.

4.   Heart Chakra (Anahata):

This is the fourth chakra, Heart Chakra or Anahata, which is known for controlling our emotions and how we act in different situations. It is located near our chest in the heart. It helps us control different feelings such as love, hatred, passion, and inner peace. If this chakra is blocked, you will not be able to love anyone or have any passion.

5.   Throat Chakra (Vishuddha):

The Throat Chakra, which is also known as the Vishuddha, is the fifth chakra and is located in our throat. It is responsible for our communication skills with the world. If this is blocked, you will not be able to speak properly. You will not be able to express yourself in the words you want. Hence it is very important to unblock this chakra.

6.   Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna):

The third eye Chakra or Ajna is the 6th of these Chakras. It is the chakra of all-seeing. Commonly, it is linked with things such as intuition, wisdom, and imagination of a person. So, if this of your chakras is blocked, you will not be able to understand the wisdom and will have no imagination.

7.   Crown Chakra (Sahasrara):

The crown chakra, which is also known as the Sahasrara, is the chakra that is located above the Ajna. This chakra controls your spirituality. Its element is divine consciousness. It helps your body connect with the soul. The connection between body, and soul is a divine connection, and unlocking it helps you understand the real meaning of your life.

How do they work?

Each of these Chakras works when they are activated. It is you who activates or deactivates each of these chakras. There are poses that help you unlock your chakras in time. If you are unable to unblock your chakras, you will not be able to live a successful life. To live life to its fullest, it is very important that you learn about controlling your chakras.

Related Articles

Back to top button